AUTOBODY DIRECTORY
HomeGuides › Who Owns the Body Shop You Are Standing In

Who Owns the Body Shop You Are Standing In

Short answer: Most collision repair shops in the United States are still small and independent. The consolidators are real, and the four counted here shop by shop turn out to be regional businesses, each concentrated in a handful of adjacent states. The name over the door frequently tells a customer nothing about who owns the business.

By Anthony Braswell for Quorum Industries LLC, The Autobody Directory · Updated 2026-09-01 · How this was written, and what the machine may not do

How this page was produced: Researched, drafted and checked with AI assistance under human direction, and signed off by the named author. How this site is written

Counts in this industry decay in weeks, and one of the largest chains below changed hands during this research. Every number carries the day it was read, and "What we could not establish" says where the map has holes.

The owner map

Ownership by a private equity fund is a fact about a company, not an accusation, and it is written that way. Every line comes from a company statement, a securities filing, a sponsor's portfolio page or a state regulatory filing, [REPORTED] throughout. In the table, n/a is not applicable, n/s is not stated.

Where the source states a stake, the table states it. For Quality Collision Group, VIVE Collision and Kaizen Collision Center it does not: the published record names the sponsor and the year of its investment and no percentage, majority or minority, appears anywhere in it, so the table says no more than the sponsor and the year. Greenbriar's own word for the VIVE transaction is "recapitalization", and its release does not say whether Garnett Station Partners kept a stake.

BrandOwner on 2026-09-01Owner sinceLocationsStatesCounted onEvidence
Caliber Collision, Caliber Auto GlassHellman and Friedman, majority; OMERS Private Equity and Leonard Green, "significant minority shareholders" on the Dec 2018 announcement; no later split publishedAgreed Dec 2018"more than 1,850 centers" across all Caliber brands, not collision only4115 Apr 2026H&F announcement; Caliber release
Crash Champions, with the former Service KingClearlake Capital Group affiliates, "majority-owned and controlled" per Moody's2022"more than 650+" on its site; "over 550" on the sponsor's, which is the July 2022 figure; "648 stores" on Moody's count at Q2 202538 plus DC on its own page; 35 plus DC on the sponsor's2026-09-01Company page; Clearlake portfolio; Moody's credit opinion, 8 Aug 2025
Gerber Collision and Glass, Boyd Autobody, AssuredBoyd Group Services Inc, publicn/a1,307 North America, 1,174 US, collision and glass trade names counted together37 US17 Mar 2026BGSI 2025 Annual Report
Classic CollisionTPGApr 2024, from New Mountain Capital348202026-09-01Company store endpoint
CollisionRightSummit Partners, majority; founder Rich Harrison retains equityJan 2024"125+"; 89 at the Summit investment11, split unknown2026-09-01Company page; Summit release
Quality Collision GroupSusquehanna Growth Equity202095 sites, 88 of them collision centres132026-09-01Company locations page
VIVE CollisionGreenbriar Equity GroupNov 2023, from Garnett Station Partners74 in its selector, 81 in its CMS102026-09-01Selector and CMS header
Kaizen Collision CenterLNC PartnersFeb 202146 listed, 45 with an address62026-09-01Company locations page
Joe Hudson's Collision CenterBoyd Group Services Inc9 Jan 2026, from TSG Consumer Partners258 at sale18 at sale9 Jan 2026TSG exit release; BGSI 2025 Annual Report, Note 32
CARSTAR, Fix Auto USA, ABRA, MaacoDriven Brands Holdings Inc, Nasdaq listed; Roark Capital funds hold a majority of its stock2015, 2020, 2019, 2015471, 212, 55 and 363 franchised outlets; 0 company-owned in anyn/s28 Dec 2024FDD Items 1, 20
AutoNationPublic companyn/a52n/s31 Dec 2025Form 10-K
Asbury AutomotivePublic companyn/a39 free-standing centresn/s31 Dec 2025Form 10-K
Penske AutomotivePublic companyn/a36 automotive, 11 heavy truckn/s31 Dec 2025Form 10-K
Group 1 AutomotivePublic companyn/a32, being 21 US and 11 UKn/s31 Dec 2025Form 10-K
Sonic AutomotivePublic companyn/a161831 Dec 2025Form 10-K
Lithia MotorsPublic companyn/aNot disclosed anywhere in the filingn/sn/a10-K uses "collision" once, as a property type

How the counts were taken

Four counts above were taken by pulling the company's own live location data on 1 September 2026 and tallying it programmatically, not by reading a page and forming an impression.

[REPORTED] Classic Collision publishes its store list on an endpoint that states its own total in a response header. On 1 September 2026 that header read 348, across four pages, the fourth holding 48 records; each record describes a shop as being "in CITY, ST ZIP", and all 348 yielded a state. VIVE Collision's selector lists 74 named shops with a city and state while its content system reports 81 shop records; nothing found explains the gap of seven, so both are given. Kaizen's page lists 46 entries, 45 with a street address. Quality Collision Group's page carries an embedded list of 95 sites with brand, city, state and address.

A language model reading a page is not a counting instrument. A transcription pass over the Classic Collision records dropped one record by hand, and arithmetic caught it: a page that must hold exactly 100 records held 99. See Corrections.

None of the four counted shop by shop is national

[REPORTED] Classic Collision, counted 2026-09-01: 348 shops in 20 states. Texas 67, Florida 56, Georgia 45. Those three hold 168 of 348, or 48.3 per cent, and the top five hold 58.9 per cent. Ohio has 2 shops and Maryland has 1. When New Mountain Capital sold the business in April 2024 its managing director called it "a leading, national collision repair platform". On the company's own data today it is a Sunbelt business with outposts.

[REPORTED] Kaizen Collision Center, counted 2026-09-01: of 45 addressed sites, Colorado 14, Arizona 13, California 12, or 86.7 per cent in three states. The rest is three shops in Nebraska, two in Nevada, one in Iowa.

[REPORTED] Quality Collision Group, counted 2026-09-01: of 95 listed sites, California 23, Minnesota 17, Utah 14, or 56.8 per cent in three states. Missouri adds 13, taking the top four to 70.5 per cent. Four of its thirteen states hold a single site.

[REPORTED] VIVE Collision, counted 2026-09-01: of the 74 sites in its own selector, New Jersey 15, New York 14, Maine 11, or 54.1 per cent. All ten states are in the Northeast except a single site in Delaware.

A consolidator's largest state is often one transaction. [REPORTED] Classic Collision bought all 45 ProCare Collision centres in the Austin, San Antonio and Houston markets in September 2021, when the whole company was 150 shops. Quality Collision Group's Minnesota position came largely from one purchase, LaMettry's Collision, which its own news index headlines as adding 14 locations.

We are not saying that any of these companies has said something false. "Leading" and "national" are marketing words with no fixed meaning. The claim here is narrower and measured: on their own location lists, on 1 September 2026, each of these four is concentrated in a handful of adjacent states, and a reader who has only heard the word "national" has been told the size and not the shape.

The company whose shape could not be measured

[REPORTED] CollisionRight names eleven states on its locations page: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin. That page carries no total. A separate page states "125+ locations", "55+ trusted brands" and "1,700+ dedicated team members".

Its per-state distribution was not established. The directory is rendered by JavaScript and no route tried returned a server-rendered list of shops. That is a gap, not a finding, and CollisionRight is the one company here whose concentration is unmeasured. It is recorded rather than estimated.

The name on the building is not the owner

Three of the second-tier consolidators leave most of their shops under an acquired name, and one of the three puts its own name on nothing at all.

[REPORTED] Quality Collision Group's locations page carries a "Partner Brand" filter enumerating 23 acquired names, among them LaMettry's Collision and Glass, Schaefer Autobody Centers, Cascade Collision Repair and Brandywine Coach Works. Counted on 1 September 2026, the same page's location list carries 29 distinct trading names, six of them absent from the company's own filter. Not one of the 95 sites trades as "Quality Collision Group". The group is invisible at the point of sale in all thirteen of its states.

[REPORTED] VIVE Collision brands 13 of its 74 sites "VIVE Collision of X". The other 61, or 82.4 per cent, trade under the name of the business VIVE bought: Cherry Collision, Coach and Carriage Auto Body, Parkway Auto Body, Crown Collision Center and the rest.

[REPORTED] CollisionRight advertises "55+ trusted brands", and its chief executive Rich Harrison has put the policy plainly in trade coverage: "Why would you take that sign down?" and "we think there's a lot of value in retaining these brands." On ownership he is equally plain: "It's not a franchise; we own everybody 100%." Classic Collision is the exception, branding essentially all 348 sites "Classic Collision".

Two shops with different names on the sign, in the same town, can therefore be owned by the same fund, and nothing at either shop will say so. It is not hypothetical: Quality Collision Group's own list puts B and S Hacienda Auto Body and Brooks Motor Cars both in Dublin, California, under two different signs and one owner. There is a second consequence, and a companion piece in this series takes it up rather than this one: enforcement, licensing and complaint records are keyed to the trading name, so a search under an owner's name systematically under-counts a company that keeps 23 or 55 trading names. That is not re-derived here.

We are not saying that keeping an acquired shop's name is a deception. It is a defensible commercial choice, sellers often ask for it, and it is the opposite of the commonest complaint about roll-ups, that the local business gets erased. The industry's folklore has this backwards: Quality Collision Group publishes on its own website that "Over 90% of private equity-backed buyers eliminate original shop names within six months", and the measurement above contradicts that for three of the four such buyers counted here.

One of the largest chains changed hands during this research

[REPORTED] Joe Hudson's Collision Center reached 258 locations across 18 states under TSG Consumer Partners. Boyd Group Services Inc agreed to buy it on 29 October 2025 and completed the purchase on 9 January 2026 for total cash consideration of 1,285,123 thousand US dollars, subject to post-closing adjustments, increasing Boyd's North American footprint by 25 per cent. That is roughly 4.98 million dollars per location, arithmetic from Boyd's two stated figures and a price per door and nothing more.

Any list of United States collision repair operators published before 9 January 2026 is wrong now. It shows a 258-shop independent chain that no longer exists as one, and understates Boyd, which describes itself as "one of the largest operators of non-franchised collision repair centers in North America", by the same 258. Caliber, which is private and publishes no audited accounts, calls itself "the nation's largest auto collision repair provider" and gives no collision-only number to test that against. These lists decay in large steps, not small ones.

[REPORTED] On 1 September 2026 jhcc.com/locations/ returns HTTP 301, moved permanently, to gerbercollision.com/jhcc, which returns a second 301 to www.gerbercollision.com/jhcc and then HTTP 200. The destination carries "Joe Hudson's Collision Center" in its title tag and its og:title and otherwise presents Gerber Collision and Glass. It contains no acquisition notice, no statement about a change of ownership and no explanation of the relationship between the two names. A customer looking for the shop they knew arrives at another company's website with nothing telling them why.

The dealer groups are trimming, and they disagree about why

The public auto retailers are the quietest owners of body shops in the country, and their own filings show the footprint flat to shrinking.

[REPORTED] AutoNation reported 74 AutoNation-branded collision centres at 31 December 2020, 57 a year later, 53 at the end of 2023, and 52 at the end of both 2024 and 2025. The whole of the fall from 74 to 57 happened inside 2021, and the count has been flat for two years. In October 2021 Caliber announced it would acquire up to 17 collision repair centres from AutoNation "during the fourth quarter 2021", in a deal including "a long-term agreement for AutoNation to refer collision customers to those centers and for Caliber to continue to purchase parts from AutoNation." AutoNation's own FY2021 Form 10-K reports, for the same quarter: "During 2021, we divested 3 stores and 18 collision centers, of which 1 store and 17 collision centers were divested in the fourth quarter of 2021." Same number, same quarter, and neither document names the other. That correspondence is consistent, not established: no filing reconciles the two.

[REPORTED] Group 1 Automotive reported 41 collision centres at the end of 2023 and 32 at the end of 2025. Its FY2025 Form 10-K says why, in its own words: "We are strategically reducing our collision footprint and repurposing a portion of that space to traditional service capacity, which we expect to increase returns from the higher margin service business."

Now arithmetic that is this publisher's, not the company's. Start from 28 US and 13 UK centres at the end of 2023, add the three US and three UK centres Group 1 reports acquiring in 2024, subtract the one US centre sold in 2024 and the one sold in 2025, and you get 29 US and 16 UK. The company reports 21 and 11. Roughly thirteen collision centres therefore left the count without being sold. Group 1 also closed nine UK dealerships under a restructuring plan in 2025, which may account for part of the gap. The thirteen is a residual, not a disclosed closure count.

[REPORTED] Asbury Automotive Group, filing in the same season, says the opposite about the economics. From its FY2025 Form 10-K: "We believe our collision repair centers provide us with an attractive opportunity to grow our business due to the high margins provided by collision repair services and the fact that we are able to source original equipment manufacturer parts from our franchised dealerships."

Both are first-party statements by public companies about their own operations, filed seven days apart in February 2026, and they cannot both be a general truth about dealer collision economics. Two facts bound the comparison. A phrase search of the SEC full-text index across all Forms 10-K returns "high margins provided by collision repair services" in eleven filings, all Asbury's, one for each fiscal year from 2015 through 2025 with no gap, and each of the eleven documents was then downloaded and string-matched directly. The sentence carries three wordings over those eleven years, differing by the single word "that", so an exact match on the fiscal 2025 wording alone finds only four; the claim is identical in all eleven. Asbury's Forms 10-K for fiscal 2012, 2013 and 2014 contain the phrase nowhere, on the same instrument in the same pass, and the word "collision" appears 15, 14 and 12 times in them. So it is eleven-year-old boilerplate rather than a judgment formed this year. And in the same document, Asbury's collision gross profit fell, from 128.6 million dollars in 2024 to 126.4 million in 2025 as reported and from 127.3 million to 121.5 million same store, the only one of its four parts-and-service profit streams to shrink that year.

[REPORTED] Lithia Motors is the largest of the six public retailers, and its FY2025 Form 10-K contains the word "collision" exactly once, in a list of property types. It discloses no count, no revenue and no gross profit. Exhibit 21 to the same filing, the schedule of subsidiaries, names 29 entities carrying a collision or body-and-paint name, among them Lithia Body and Paint, Baierl Collision Center, Suburban Collision of Troy and Bell Road Certified Collision Center. Anyone quoting a Lithia collision centre count is quoting something other than a Lithia filing.

We do not claim that the dealer groups are exiting collision repair. Two of the five grew over the same two years: Asbury from 37 centres at the end of 2023 to 39 at the end of 2025, and Penske from 34 automotive collision centres to 36, with 11 further collision centres at its heavy-truck group that nothing else in this table has a counterpart for. The claim is the narrow one the filings support: the five published counts sum to 181 at the end of 2023 and 175 at the end of 2025, so the footprint is flat to shrinking in aggregate rather than growing; AutoNation sold shops to an independent consolidator while keeping the parts business and the customer referral; and the segment cannot agree in public about whether body shops are the high-margin prize.

The independents are still the industry

[REPORTED] The US Census Bureau's County Business Patterns for 2023, which is the most recent release for this industry as at 1 September 2026, counts 35,029 establishments in NAICS 811121, automotive body, paint and interior repair and maintenance, employing 246,720 people. Of those, 18,841 have one to four employees and 7,670 have five to nine: 26,511 establishments, or 75.7 per cent of the industry, with fewer than ten people in them. 32,618, or 93.1 per cent, have fewer than twenty. At the other end, 31 establishments have 100 to 249 employees and 6 have 250 to 499. Census suppresses the two largest size classes for this industry, printing "N" instead of a number, and the file's own arithmetic fixes what sits behind them: the published size classes sum to 35,028 against a stated total of 35,029, so exactly one establishment falls in a class of 500 or more employees. Thirty-eight establishments in the entire United States have 100 or more employees, and one of those has 500 or more. The 2022 file, one release older, gives 34,665 establishments and 34 in the published hundred-plus classes, so the shape does not move between the two years.

Seven operators from the table above total 2,509 US locations: about seven per cent of that population. They are Boyd at its US-only 1,174, Crash Champions at Moody's 648, Classic Collision at 348, CollisionRight at 125, Quality Collision Group at 95, VIVE at 74 and Kaizen at 45. Six of the seven are each company's own published figure; the Crash Champions component is the rating agency's, for the reason given below, and it is the figure every page in this series uses for that company. That is an upper bound on collision shops rather than a count of them, because Boyd's 1,174 covers its collision and glass trade names together and includes five intake and two fleet locations on its own note. The total excludes Caliber, which does not publish how many of its centres are collision shops rather than glass locations, and it excludes the 738 franchised CARSTAR, Fix Auto and ABRA shops and Maaco's 363 further franchised outlets, which carry a national brand but are independently owned.

National share is also close to useless as a measure of market power. Nobody drives fifty miles for a collision repair. The market a customer chooses in, and the market an insurer builds a network from, is a metropolitan area, and a company holding one per cent of the country can hold a quarter of a city.

What scale actually buys

The findings that cut in the consolidators' favour are what make the rest worth reading.

[REPORTED] The capital argument is made by the people putting up the capital, and it is not obviously wrong. Clearlake's Jose Feliciano and Colin Leonard, announcing the Crash Champions investment: "The proliferation of vehicle technology has put unique demands on the shop operators to invest in OEM certifications, equipment, and most importantly their personnel to deliver safe and efficient service." A shop with four employees, which is over half the industry, funds a paint booth, a welder, a scan tool, a calibration rig, certifications and technician training out of its own cash flow.

[REPORTED] Boyd Group, the largest owner of collision shops that publishes audited accounts, reported gross margin of 46.4 per cent of sales for 2025 against 45.5 per cent for 2024, and 44.8, 44.7 and 45.5 per cent in 2021, 2022 and 2023, each figure read off the report that states it. It did not rise every year: it fell once and was flat once. Boyd attributes part of the 2025 gain to "the benefits of internalization of scanning and calibration, increase in parts margin, and improvements in performance based pricing." Internalising scanning and calibration is a capability a small shop buys in or does not offer. Boyd also recorded no goodwill or intangible impairment for fiscal 2025 on an audited basis; roll-ups that overpay write goodwill down. That test could not reach the largest purchase Boyd has ever made. Joe Hudson's closed on 9 January 2026, nine days after the balance sheet date, and the same report records that the fair value work was "currently underway with the assistance of independent valuation specialists" when it was signed. [REPORTED] CollisionRight states that acquired businesses "will continue operating under the brands and professionals that built their strong local reputations" and are "now supported by a larger, unified organization."

We are not claiming that any of that is proven. The Clearlake sentence is a sponsor describing its own investment thesis. Boyd's margin bridge does not quantify the split between its three drivers and never defines "performance based pricing" anywhere in the filing. CollisionRight's statement is about its intentions, not a measured outcome, and no retention figure exists in the public record for any operator here. What is established is that scale funds equipment, certification and training a four-person shop cannot fund alone. What that does to the repair on your car is not established either way.

What we could not establish, and the walls

Rejected

Claims considered for this article and cut rather than softened.

  1. "Over 90% of private equity-backed buyers eliminate original shop names within six months." Published by Quality Collision Group on its own site. Cut as a statement about the industry: the page lists twelve sources collectively at the foot without attaching any to an individual figure, one of them a Reddit thread, and the measurement here contradicts it for three of the four such buyers counted. It appears above only as an example of what the sector publishes about itself.
  2. "Caliber operates more than 1,850 collision shops." The company's own words are "the Caliber portfolio of brands has grown to more than 1,850 centers nationwide", covering collision and glass together.
  3. A Crash Champions shop count of 500. It is the default page size of common sitemap generators and does not reproduce; a re-read on 2026-09-01 returned 662 unique location URLs. The 662 reproduces and is published as a URL count on the consolidation page, but it is not offered here as a store count.
  4. "In 2024, 450 shops were acquired while more than 800 closed permanently." Also from Quality Collision Group's own site, also with no attached source.
  5. An inference that a majority of US collision establishments are sole proprietorships. The Census legal-form breakdown supports it only if an unpublished code mapping is assumed.
  6. Any statement that a named consolidator has been found at fault by a court or a regulator. No such finding was located for any company here, and none is asserted. One regulatory action was located and it is not one of those. Between 14 and 27 July 2026 the Minnesota Department of Commerce issued Orders of Cancellation against all six Driven Brands franchisor entities registered in that state, the CARSTAR, Fix Auto, ABRA and Maaco franchisors among them. The ground stated in each order is failure to file an annual report and fee under Minn. Stat. 80C.08. That is administrative. It is not a finding of misconduct and it is not written as one here.

Corrections

Related

Sources

General consumer information: not legal, insurance, or financial advice. Requirements, coverage, and practices vary by state, policy, and manufacturer.

Run a body shop? Your shop likely already has a page here, built from public records. Check it and claim it free: verifying only ever adds.
What does claiming add? It's free ›

More guides

ADAS Calibration Explained: Why Your Car Needs It After Repairs

ADAS Calibration Laws by State: What the Record Actually Shows

Adjuster Scorecards and the Licence That Is Personally Yours